Dream Log #2 ~Through the Jungle Nightmare

Another snake one I’m afraid! I’m not and never was actually scared of snakes, funnily enough, but I did used to have recurring nightmares involving them. I’m terrified of spiders but NEVER have had nightmares about them! 

Jungle Nightmare:

I am with my family in the jungle (don’t ask me what we were doing there!), when there’s a crescendo of hissing sounds. There’s a whole loads of snakes, mostly black ones, making their way towards us. Slowly, they slither forward. We back away and then break into a run. We know the Jeep isn’t too far away so if we get there, we’ll be safe. My brother is the youngest and he starts to fall behind. Suddenly, he trips over a root. One of the faster snakes gets to him and he’s crawling backwards away from it as fast as he can.

He’s not fast enough. I run back to help him up but it’s too late – the snake lunges and bites him on the ankle. I get there in time to whack the snake away and pull him to his feet. He cries out in pain as we collectively hobble away from the approaching snake hoard. The bite looks red and swollen. Instinctively, I know if I don’t get to the Jeep in time and deal with the bite soon, he will die. I pull him along, not caring about the pain it’s causing him because if the snakes catch up, it will be a much worse fate. We catch up with my parents and we’re at the Jeep. We get inside shut the doors and windows and seal any holes. While my parents were trying to start the car, I tie some cloth around my brother’s calf. In the background, the hissing is incredibly loud. There are things moving, slithering onthe metal of the car. Out the corner of my eye, I see black shapes dart across the windows. I turn my attention to my brother to try to suck the poison out, like I’ve seen in movies and it works somehow instantly. The swelling reduces and he’s in less pain. I hear more hissing but it’s strange, it doesn’t sound like a snake. Spitting out the poison, I notice my parents have started up the car. We were getting out of this hell hole!! My dad tries to drive forward and accelerate but the Jeep stays motionless. With building dread, I realise the snakes are intelligent and have punctured our tyres with their fangs. We have no option but to make a run for it out through the snakes swarming around the car.

Steeling ourselves, we get ready to open the doors. I open my door along with everyone else and am instantly met with stinging, excruciating pain everywhere. And I wake up.

Thanks for reading this nightmare! They’re extremely vivid aren’t they? I actually had this as a recurring nightmare when I was only about 10 years old. It would recur almost every week. The next one I post will also be a nightmare from when I was around that age. Although that one will be the one that I had the most often – sometimes every night. It’s wonder I didn’t grow up scared of snakes!

 

Leave a comment