Random Thought #5 ~ Power and Wealth

I’ve been thinking, aren’t the accumulation of power and wealth reeeeeeallly what everyone fights over? At the root of most arguments or conflicts, both large and small scale, I find that one or both of those two is what people are really fighting about. At the very least, the people in power or in leadership are in it for power and wealth even if their minions aren’t.  I find that it’s often the people with influence that are manipulating fears and beliefs of good people to gain more power and more resources for themselves.

Do you disagree?

In fact, I dare anyone reading this to come up with a conflict in history which I can’t lead back to someone selfishly increasing their power or wealth. Even conflicts that seem to be about something else altogether are just thinly veiled disguises for power or resource grabs.

Why are we like this?

😦 Makes me sad.

Please comment if you do! Or, my email is tanndx@gmail.com!

2 thoughts on “Random Thought #5 ~ Power and Wealth

    1. OK sure, Holy Wars. Were they purely about just religion? What was at stake? Wasn’t it land and the wealth of the land that each side would dominate? I would argue that, on the surface, the public were swayed to fight because of religion. This was the factor that persuaded the ordinary men and women to march and the children to have their own little crusade. However, what did the people in power want? Were they really fighting purely over religion? By fighting these wars, would they not gain power and control over the Holy Lands and therefore be able to exert more control over the rest of the world? I think pride comes into it as well. War is definitely complex. All I’m saying really is that I believe power and wealth are the MAIN driving forces. Thank you for your comment! Appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a comment